ServSafe® Food Manager

Developed by the National Restaurant Association, ServSafe® teaches food managers to implement essential food safety practices and create a culture of food safety.


The ServSafe curriculum blends the latest FDA Food Code, food safety research and actual job tasks identified by foodservice industry experts.






Recognition in Maryland


ServSafe meets all of the requirements mandated by the county and local health departments in the state of Maryland, including Baltimore City, Baltimore County, City of Annapolis, Howard County, Prince George's County and Montgomery County. In the mandated counties in Maryland the certification is valid for three years.


Class Content


The ServSafe program helps prepare you for the ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certification exam. ServSafe® Seventh Edition incorporates lectures, video and activities to help students stay engaged, retain information and apply the knowledge they’ve gained to their work.


Topics include:

- Personal Hygiene
- Cross Contamination
- Time and Temperature
- Receiving and Storage
- Food Safety Management Systems
- Training Hourly Employees


Getting & Maintaining Certification


The first time you take ServSafe it should include 16 hours of instruction. When it is time to renew your certification you can choose to take the 8 hour ServSafe Recertification class. If your certificate is expired by more than 30 days, it is recommended that you take the 16-hour class.


ServSafe Exam


The exam consists of 90 multiple-choice questions and is administered at the end of the last day of class. The passing score is 75%. The National Restaurant Association handles the scoring of all ServSafe exams. Exam results are typically posted online 7-14 days after you have taken the exam. You can Check Your Exam Score on the ServSafe website.




​If you are interested in having a private ServSafe class taught at your business, email

You can also learn about becoming an instructor or developing a staff instructor for your organization.